If you read my previous post then you know I’ve been struggling for a while. In this post I’ll be discussing what happened and why this might be affecting your mood and energy too.

SAD

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you already know that I have bipolar disorder. This can make life challenging just on its own. Now pair that with Season Affective Disorder (SAD) and you’ve got yourself a trash fire.

There is an exception to this but I’ll get to that in a bit.

 

depression 3

During the winter months I:

  • Become reclusive
  • Have low energy
  • Need constant comfort food
  • Keep curtains closed
  • Need more sleep
  • Lose motivation

If you’re seasonally sensitive like me then you probably experience something very similar. Because I experience this every single year it has taught me to be more compassionate with myself and to prepare. It has also taught me to be aware of self-sabotage, law of attraction and self-fulfilling prophecy.

What I wasn’t paying attention to was the habits this created. When the winter season transitioned into Spring I still felt and acted like I did during the winter. I realized shit had to change. I had to shake things up in order to create new habits.

wet-dog-shake

I don’t think this was coincidence. I don’t think SAD is something we experience solely during the winter months. I think being seasonally sensitive affects us, well, seasonally. SAD is a term generally used to describe winter blues/depression. What the letters S A D don’t stand for is “winter depression.” The word “Disorder” is in there but “Seasonal Affective” means you’re affected in some way by the season. This means you can be affected by the season in a positive way as well as a negative.

During the Spring I:

  • Naturally crave healthier foods
  • Am clean/organize
  • Want to be active/exercise/move body
  • Open my curtains
  • Have moderate – high energy
  • Require a normal amount of sleep
  • Want to socialize

I am as strongly affected by Spring as I am winter just on the positive end of the spectrum.

depression 4

SAD should not be confused with Major Depressive Disorder. MDD can hit any time and can last anywhere between a couple weeks to several years as it is a mental health issue. If you are struggling with MDD or bipolar disorder, speak up and get help (therapy/counseling, meds, etc.) If the pattern suggests you are dealing with negative habits caused by SAD, shake that shit up and start creating positive habits ASAP.

purple line 2

Did you find this post helpful? If so, share it with others

And

Leave a comment below

As always, sending love your way

~ Liz

P.S: If you haven’t already, join the Spiritually Charged Facebook group

Leave a Reply

